The Congress is the Institute’s global advisory body, that represents the membership.

If you are a member of Congress or a Branch Chair, log in here for full access.


    As an elected representative of the members in your region you will see key communications link between members and the Institutes leadership.

    Congress' role is advisory, it has no legal responsibilities and is set up to support the Global Board of Trustees but has no executive decision making powers.

    What is Congress?
    FInd out more about CIPS Governance

    Congress will have seats directly elected by the membership, plus a Chairman elected by Congress members. Seat allocation is based on geographical regions:

    Congress will typically meet twice in each financial year, normally in November and March. The March meeting will be a two-day event and will feed into the Institute’s strategy planning cycle.

    Membership of Congress will be by open election and the ballot is conducted online. Candidates must be resident in the region they want to represent and students must meet additional eligibility criteria to enable full participation.

    The term of office is three years and elections will be held each year to replace one third of the membership in a balanced sequence. 

    Congress Members

    If you would like to contact your Congress representative, please email



    Three Nations Anne Langley
      Sharon Smyth


    Graeme Urquhart

      Elaine McLean**

    North of England

    Marc Hutchinson


    David Loseby


    Ian Robinson

      Michael Sellors


    Bob Waddell


    Peter Duffy**
      Beth Loudon**
      Debbie Shore**

    Hazel Tinsley**
      Rick Webb**

    Central England

    Caroline Blackman-Edney

      Melanie Heath
      Gary Howard
      Julia Miller


    John Moreton

      David Pratt
      Malcolm Budd**

    Jenny Marshall**
      Claire Penny**
      Madeleine Townend**
    South of England Lena Boghossian
      Amanda Earnshaw
      Jacqueline Hart


    Argentina Hung

      Shaun Mann
      Martin Ratcliffe
      Richard Anstis**
      Jennifer Lovell**


    Jonathan Cheung


    Michael Richards

      Mahbub Ahmed Chowdhury**


    Mike Blanchard


    Hannah Bodilly

      Lee Houlson**



    All Africa Simon Annan
    All Africa Pelly Rutamwebwa Mugasi
    East Africa Ellis Biryahwaho
    South Africa Ronald Mlalazi
    South Africa Thapelo Senobe Ntesang
    West Africa Daniel Bassey
    West Africa Tom Tagoe
    East Africa  C Wambui Mbugua** 
    West Africa Jennifer Atanga Akongbota**
    West Africa Daniel Bassey** (re-elected)


    Anthony Fuller



    Europe John Everett 


    Adil Al Mulla

    Africa Student Naomi Wanjiku Kinyanjui  
      Kevin Okinda**
    Australasia Student  Fiona MacDonald
      Kylie Burke**
    MENA Student Muhammad Awais Zeb
    UK Student Dan Grace


    ** - new Congress member from 1 November 2018

    Congress Chair

    1 February 2015 to 31 October 2018

    Congress Chair – Nikki Bell FCIPS, BA (Hons)

    Nikki Bell

    Nikki Bell, Head of Commercial Policy & Project Assurance, Scottish Government
    Nikki has worked in a number of private and public sector senior procurement and programme management roles since graduating in 1990 with a BA (Hons) in Business Economics and Marketing. With IBM, Hewlett-Packard and Agilent she gained extensive experience in leading national and international procurement and system transformation programmes. Since joining the Scottish Government in 2005 she has played a key role in driving and enabling public procurement reform in Scotland, with a particular focus on building Scottish Government’s Procurement, Commercial and Project Delivery skills. A Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Procurement & Supply, Nikki sits on CIPS Global Board of Trustees; is Chair of CIPS Global Congress; and is a Member of the Institute of Directors. With specific interests in developing the capability of individuals, organisations, supply chains and our Procurement People of Tomorrow, she is a Member the Glasgow Caledonian University ‘School for Business and Society’ Advisory Group; Chair of the Scottish Professional Practice and Development Strategic Forum; and is an active contributor to the development and implementation of Scottish Government’s People Strategy.


    Key Dates for 2018:

    • Thursday 22 & Friday 23 November 2018 - Ashorne Hill, Leamington Spa

    Contact details:

    For Congress queries -

    For Branch queries -

    Page Loading
    Page Loading